Hello !

Visit my page : Nicole-Snitselaar

Thank you for visiting my new blog. New blog? Yes. I thought it would be interesting to have an english one. I usually write in french.( my “french” blog )

In fact english was my first language as a small child. My mother was a young Scottish women, who married a dutch man, my father. They lived in Belgium first, then moved to France, six years after my birth.

I learned french as I went to school. English was spoken at home most of the time. But as the years went by, us, the children, spoke more french than english, much to our parents despair! Later on, growing up, I lived in Ireland for nine month. My english improved.

Since then, this language has been part of my life. I realise  it has deeper roots then I thought…

Very often french people say I don’t write or think the same way as them.

I am always surprised by that kind of comment.

I believe it has something to do with the influence all the picture books had on me.

I remember my mother always being ready to read some story or another, to her children. (we were six children, three girls and three boys)

And these books were most of the time english picture books.

I really enjoy writing in english, and I wonder if it has something to do with my childhood!

I have two english picture books and a small comic strip published :

HIKU        Top-That Publishers

LITTLE GREY DONKEY        Top-That Publishers

THE DAY HONEY RAN OUTLE JOUR OU LE MIEL A MANQUÉ Dadoclem Editions

For the moment, I have only been writing for children.

I hope one day, to be able  to climb up the ladder to reach a bigger ame : adult books.(or young teenagers)

Please feel welcome on my blog!

Nicole Snitselaar

About nicole snitselaar

Writting, I love writting! But writting is so more rewarding when it can be shared. I am happy to have over 20 picture-books published in the last four years. Yes, most of these books are in french. Why do I write in english on this site? Because I think english is a well used language, and I want to reach out to all the engkish speaking friends and people that might look for more information about me! I must also add, that english was my first language as a little girl. Why? Because my mother is scottich. She married a dutch man (my father) and they lived in Belgium, and later in France. I am the mother of five young adults. I have written songs and nursery rhymes for over 20 years. I have 7 CD released. One day,(in 2005) I decided it was time for me to start writting more then just songs.I really enjoy this activity and hope that you will enjoy discovering my stories! If you want to learn more about me, my life, my books, you may visit my blog: http//:comptines.over-blog.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello !

  1. Anne Speirs says:

    It’s so much fun to be multi-lingual, isn’t it?! Love all the covers of your books. Wish I could get a few of them one day!

Leave a Reply

